Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum

Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection

This new publication is dedicated to the Baranger Motion Displays of the R.F. Collection housed at the Vitra Design Museum. Motion Displays were conceived as eye-catching and novel moving objects, which – primarily in the US – were used in jewellers’ shop-window displays to attract customers.  More information

ISBN 978-3-945852-48-4
Regular price
45,00 €
Sale price
45,00 €
Regular price
0,00 €
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

More about »Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection«

The Baranger Motion Displays were produced by Baranger Studios in Pasadena, CA between 1937 and 1957 and were lent to thousands of jewellers’ shops over the years. Primarily during the 1990s, Rolf Fehlbaum, Vitra Chairman Emeritus and founder of the Vitra Design Museum, worked to assemble a carefully selected a comprehensive collection of these objects in Weil am Rhein.

With large-scale illustrations of the different Motion Displays and an atmospheric photo essay featuring black-and-white details of the objects, the book provides an unprecedented and in-depth view into this collection. In an accompanying essay, Bill Shaffer traces the success story of the displays and sheds light on the significance of the red cases in which they were delivered to the jewellers.

Along with Robots 1:1 and Space Fantasies 1:1, Baranger Motion Displays is the third publication to focus on the R.F. Collection. Visitors can view the collection of Motion Displays at the Vitra Campus in Weil am Rhein as part of the “Wunderkammer” (cabinet of curiosities), which also presents other parts of Rolf Fehlbaum’s wide-ranging collection. In order for readers to be able to experience the wonders of these moving objects for themselves, each Motion Display has been given a QR Code in the book which links to an entertaining video clip of the display in action.

English

Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Lade das Bild in den Galerie-Viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Lade das Bild in den Galerie-Viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Lade das Bild in den Galerie-Viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Lade das Bild in den Galerie-Viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum
  • Lade das Bild in den Galerie-Viewer, Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection - Vitra Design Museum

Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection

Die Publikation ist den Baranger Motion Displays der R.F. Collection des Vitra Design Museums gewidmet. Die Motion Displays sind als Blickfang konzipierte, originelle bewegliche Objekte, die – vorwiegend in den USA – in Schaufenstern von Juwelieren standen, um die Aufmerksamkeit der Kunden zu wecken. Mehr Informationen

  • Hardcover
  • 34 x 32,5 cm
  • 140 Seiten, über 70 Bilder
  • QR-Codes verlinken auf kurze Videos der beweglichen Objekte
ISBN 978-3-945852-48-4
Normaler Preis
45,00 €
Sonderpreis
45,00 €
Normaler Preis
0,00 €
Ausverkauft
Einzelpreis
pro 
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Mehr über »Baranger Motion Displays R.F. Collection«

Die Baranger Motion Displays wurden von den Baranger Studios in Pasadena, Kalifornien, zwischen 1937 und 1957 hergestellt und über Jahre hinweg an Tausende von Juweliergeschäften verliehen. Rolf Fehlbaum, Vitra Chairman Emeritus und Gründer des Vitra Design Museums, hat vor allem in den 1990er Jahren umfangreiche Sammlung der Objekte aufgebaut.

Mit großen Abbildungen der einzelnen Motion Displays und einem Bildessay mit stimmungsvollen, schwarz-weißen Detailaufnahmen gibt das Buch einen umfassenden Einblick in die Sammlung. Darüber hinaus erörtert Bill Shaffer in einem Essay die Erfolgsgeschichte dieser Displays und erläutert die Bedeutung des roten Koffers, in dem sie an die Juweliere ausgeliehen wurden.

Baranger Motion Displays ist – neben Robots 1:1 und Space Fantasies 1:1 – die dritte Publikation, die sich mit der R.F. Collection befasst. Die Sammlung der Motion Displays ist auf dem Vitra Campus in Weil am Rhein als Teil der »Wunderkammer« zu sehen, die weitere Sammlungsgebiete von Rolf Fehlbaum präsentiert. Um aber auch den Leserinnen und Lesern dieses Buches einen Eindruck der sich bewegenden Objekte zu vermitteln, findet sich bei jedem Motion Display ein QR-Code, der auf einen unterhaltsamen Videoclip verweist.

Deutsch