About us

The Vitra Design Museum numbers among the world's leading museums of design. It is dedicated to the research and presentation of design, past and present, and examines design's relationship to architecture, art and everyday culture. In the main museum building by Frank Gehry, the museum annually mounts two major temporary exhibitions. In addition, smaller shows are presented in the Vitra Museum Gallery, which often follow a more contemporary and experimental approach.

The Vitra Schaudepot, which was designed by Herzog & de Meuron, presents approximately 400 key objects from the extensive collection and hence resembles one of the largest permanent collections and research sites on modern furniture design world-wide. 
The work of the Vitra Design Museum is based on its collection, which includes not only key objects of design history, but also the estates of several important design personalities. The museum library and document archive are available to researchers upon request. The museum conceives its exhibitions for touring, and they are shown at venues around the world. On the Vitra Campus, they are complemented by a diverse programme of events, guided tours, and workshops.

Vitra Design Museum

Charles-Eames-Str. 2
D-79576 Weil am Rhein

Mail: shop@design-museum.de
Telephone: +49.7621.702.3640

To Museum

English

Über uns

Das Vitra Design Museum zählt zu den führenden Designmuseen weltweit. Es erforscht und vermittelt die Geschichte und Gegenwart des Designs und setzt diese in Beziehung zu Architektur, Kunst und Alltagskultur. Im Hauptgebäude von Frank Gehry präsentiert das Museum jährlich zwei große Wechselausstellungen. Parallel dazu werden in der Vitra Design Museum Gallery temporäre Ausstellungen gezeigt, die einen aktuellen und oftmals experimentellen Ansatz verfolgen. 

Das Vitra Schaudepot von Herzog & de Meuron präsentiert circa 400 Schlüsselobjekte seiner umfangreichen Sammlung und zählt damit zu den weltweit größten Dauerausstellungen und Forschungsstätten zum modernen Möbeldesign. 
Grundlage der Arbeit des Vitra Design Museums ist eine Sammlung, die neben Schlüsselstücken der Designgeschichte auch mehrere bedeutende Nachlässe umfasst. Die Museumsbibliothek und das Dokumentenarchiv stehen Forschern auf Anfrage zur Verfügung. Die Ausstellungen des Museums sind als Wanderausstellungen konzipiert und werden weltweit präsentiert. Auf dem Vitra Campus werden sie um ein vielfältiges Begleitprogramm aus Events, Führungen und Workshops ergänzt.

Vitra Design Museum
Charles-Eames-Str. 2
D-79576 Weil am Rhein

Mail: shop@design-museum.de
Telefon: +49.7621.702.3640

Zum Museum

German